Peugeot is now claiming that when it made the decision to enter a single 908 HDi FAP for the 2008 12 Hours of Sebring, its primary objective was to use the race as part of its preparation for this year's Le Mans 24 Hours.

Despite hydraulic problems and a start stop session for the car the team continues to say that Saturday’s race saw the successful completion of this objective and saw the 908 spend more than two hours leading the race, before going onto setting the fastest race lap time. This indeed was true as the speed was evident in the back straight.

Nicolas Minassian started the race for Peugeot from second position on the grid, but immediately overtook the pole sitting Audi R10 TDi, to lead the race into the first corner.

The 908 HDi FAP then went on to pull out an assertive lead as Portugal's Pedro Lamy and fellow Frenchman Stéphane Sarrazin took over at the wheel of the 908 HDi FAP. This lead extended to nearly 35 seconds after only two hours of racing. Unfortunately with just under three hours of racing completed, a hydraulic leak forced Stéphane Sarrazin to make a lengthy pit stop. Despite losing nine laps, the Frenchman rejoined the race and soon raced through the field before catching and passing Allan McNish in the Audi R10 TDi.Sadly the car was victim to another hydraulic issue, which saw the 908 HDi FAP drop down the field to 22nd place, 25 laps behind the leader. Once back in the race the three drivers and the team's engineers worked together to put in a string of fastest race laps which culminated in Pedro Lamy setting the fastest lap of the race with a 1m 44.536s, after eight hours of racing.
This impressive run continued until two hours from the end of the race when the rear left-hand wheel bearing had to be changed, and then a second stop was required to rectify an air leak in the intake system. Determined not to give up despite these issues, the team continued to give its all and Pedro Lamy eventually crossed the line in 12th place. This 12th place position was, however, later changed to 11th with the disqualification of the second placed car, the LMP2 Acura driven by Adrian Fernandez and Luis Diaz.

[Source: Newspress]