Manthey Porsche GT3 R #11 (Marc Lieb, Timo Bernhard, Romain Dumas, Lucas Luhr)

Some things seemingly never change. One such thing is the pace of the yellow and green Manthey cars. They've been front runners for over 6 years now, including four consecutive victories at the 24h Rennen on the Nürburgring.

#36 Rowe Motorsport Mercedes SLS AMG GT3 ( Alexander Roloff, Roland Rehfeld, Hubert Haupt, Marco Schlep)

In the mixed conditions free practice today, the #11 Porsche 911 GT3 R from Manthey set the pace with an 8m40.641, ahead of the #36 Rowe Motorsport Mercedes SLS GT3 (8m40.772) , and the #15 Phoenix Racing Audi R8 LMS (8m41.018).

#15 Audi Sport Team Phoenix Audi R8 LMS  (Frank Stippler, Marc Hennerici, Christopher Haase, Markus Winkelhock)

As you can see the top 3 were seperated by just a few tenths!

A couple of seconds further back , was last year's winner, the #1 BMW Motorsport M3 GT, followed by the #9 Porsche Hybrid GT3 R.

The qualifying for the Carrera World cup is about to start now, followed by the Night qualifying.
More later!